Prepaid Electricity Meter Malaysia: 6 Proven Buyer Checks Before You Order

Guides

Apartment blocks in Subang Jaya, Selangor, in Malaysia Klang Valley rental market for how to choose prepaid electricity meter rental Malaysia

Prepaid electricity meter Malaysia setups can be simple when six checks come first: is it truly prepaid, what is the total cost, how long is the warranty, does it still work if WiFi drops, is the kilowatt-hour (kWh) rate clear, and what happens when credit hits zero. This guide compares four systems, including PowerLah, using those checks. It also covers red flags and a real installation cost example.

Six criteria that separate a fair prepaid system from a bad one

A WiFi prepaid sub-meter is typically installed between the main Tenaga Nasional Berhad (TNB) meter and the wiring for each room. For a full walkthrough, see How smart power metering works for landlords.

When choosing a prepaid electricity meter Malaysia landlords often start with the same first question: whether the system is really prepaid. A true prepaid meter turns power off automatically when that room’s prepaid credit reaches zero. It should also turn power back on automatically as soon as the tenant tops up.

Utopia, SplitMeter, Pro Meter, and PowerLah all work this way. That automation matters. Without it, landlords or agents have to chase late payments, schedule cutoffs, and restore power manually.

Next, look at the total cost. Add up the device price, installation, and any monthly or yearly fees. Across these four systems, devices cost about RM159 to RM299 each.

Where a vendor shares an install price, plan for roughly RM120 to RM350 per device. Actual installation cost depends on the vendor and the job complexity. If the property requires rewiring, for example when two rooms share one incoming circuit breaker, installation costs can rise quickly.

Platforms like PowerLah provide a site survey so the exact installation cost is known upfront, and often recommend alternative arrangements that fit the property.

Warranty and support matter too. These are not the same for every vendor; they usually depend on which package you buy and how many units you order.

Also check what happens when the internet connection is lost, as this occurs more often than many operators expect. The meter should still record usage and deduct credit offline, though remote control is typically unavailable until the connection returns.

How much a kWh rate costs should also be clear. Ideally, it should follow the latest TNB tariffs closely. Tariff calculation is complex and often changes every month, so a platform that automates this saves time.

Finally, there should be a clear rule for zero credit. Tenants should know what happens before they ever run out — whether power cuts immediately, whether they get a low-credit warning, and how quickly supply returns after a top-up.

Malaysian digital electricity meters used with prepaid electricity meter Malaysia room sub-meters
Malaysian digital electricity meters. Photo: Encik Tekateki / Wikimedia Commons (CC BY-SA 4.0).

Comparing Utopia, SplitMeter, Pro Meter, and PowerLah on their own published terms

The table below comes straight from each vendor’s own pricing page, checked on 14 September 2026. These prices might change, so double-check the current figures before you buy.

VendorEntry price per unitWarranty/supportInstall coverage and priceOffline behaviour
UtopiaRM299 (min. 3 units); RM229 at 30+ units3 months at entry tier, 12 months at 12+ unitsKlang Valley; installer arranged separatelyNot stated on the pricing page
SplitMeterRM230 (1–9 units); RM220 at 16+ units; RM19/month rent-to-own over 16 months12 months buy tiers; 16 months rent-to-ownKL, Selangor, Johor, Penang, Ipoh and more; RM150–RM350Not stated on the pricing page
Pro MeterDevice price not published on-site; install RM120–RM300Not stated on the pricing pageKuala Lumpur and Selangor onlyKeeps recording and deducting credit locally; remote view/control pauses until WiFi returns
PowerLahRM199 per unit, promotional RM159; no monthly fee12 monthsPeninsular Malaysia; certified-electrician install, starts at RM120 per meter and varies by complexityKeeps recording and deducting credit locally; remote view/control pauses until WiFi returns

Of the four, only Utopia has a minimum order (3 units). SplitMeter, Pro Meter, and PowerLah can all be bought one unit at a time, which suits a one- or two-room trial before a bigger rollout.

SplitMeter also offers a rent-to-own plan at RM19 a month for 16 months. Pro Meter does not list a device price online, so a quote is required. None of the four charge a monthly software or app fee. On offline behaviour, only Pro Meter and PowerLah say what happens: the meter keeps tracking usage and deducting credit locally, but remote access pauses until the connection returns.

PowerLah stands out on coverage and setup. It serves all of Peninsular Malaysia and manages the install end to end: an on-site audit first, then wiring by a certified electrician. Installation starts at RM120 per meter and goes up from there depending on how complex the job is.

Utopia and SplitMeter publish fixed install prices, but check the fine print before you commit. Beyond the basics in the table, PowerLah also lists anti-tamper alerts, automatic TNB Residential and Commercial tariff conversion into Ringgit, and one dashboard for portfolios from about 10 rooms to 1,000-plus.

A row of electricity meters mounted side by side for prepaid electricity meter Malaysia comparison
Multiple electricity meters side by side. Photo: Connor Scott McManus / Pexels.

Red flags to avoid when buying a prepaid sub-meter

If any of these appear in a vendor’s fine print when you compare a prepaid electricity meter Malaysia offer, it is worth slowing down before buying.

First: a narrow install region. Pro Meter only covers Kuala Lumpur and Selangor, and Utopia only covers Klang Valley. SplitMeter claims broader Peninsular coverage plus East Malaysia in its install-history figures, though its RM150–RM350 install-price line only names five cities.

PowerLah covers all of Peninsular Malaysia, and can support East Malaysia too provided you hire your own installer. If you are outside a vendor’s stated area, ask in writing before ordering any hardware: who is installing the device, and at what price.

Second: no automatic kWh-to-Ringgit conversion. Working out the Ringgit rate from TNB’s tariff components is not a simple flat-rate sum, and the tariff itself can change month to month.

A vendor that automates this conversion removes a real source of manual error, especially one that keeps auditable records of how each bill amount was calculated as tariff components and usage change — PowerLah is one example.

If a vendor instead expects you to work out or justify the rate yourself, or its rate sits well above the blended TNB cost with no stated reason, ask questions before signing anything. See TNB electricity cost for Malaysian rentals for how that blended rate is worked out.

Third: no local and international standards approval. Prepaid sub-meter acts as electrical switch, and contains both electromechanical and network communication components (e.g. WiFi, Bluetooth, LTE, etc.). So far, only PowerLah publicly disclosed that their product has met SIRIM & MCMC requirements, along with international IEC and EN safety standards certification.

Fourth: no written service agreement. Verbal promises about installation timelines and who pays for a repair or replacement if a unit fails outside the warranty period are hard to enforce later. Get these points in writing before you pay any deposit. It protects both sides.

Fifth: install counts and client names used as proof. SplitMeter’s 80,000-install figure and named clients, and Utopia’s “12,300+ properties” figure, are both the vendors’ own marketing claims. They are useful context, but they are not a guarantee for quality, reliability, and support.

Pangsapuri Cempaka apartment block in Kota Damansara, Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Pangsapuri Cempaka, Kota Damansara, Petaling Jaya. Photo: Wiki Farazi / Wikimedia Commons (CC0).

Prepaid electricity meter Malaysia cost and payback

The table below works through published device prices for a four-room rental and the same vendors at 12 rooms. Install ranges use each vendor’s stated per-meter figures where available; Utopia does not publish an install price on its pricing page. Pro Meter is omitted here because it does not list a device price online. Prices checked 14 September 2026 and may change.

Vendor4-room devices4-room install4-room all-in (approx.)12-room devices
UtopiaRM1,196 (RM299 × 4)Arranged separately (Klang Valley)Devices only; install extraRM2,988 (RM249 × 12)
SplitMeterRM880 (RM220 × 4)RM600–RM1,400 (RM150–RM350 × 4)RM1,480–RM2,280RM2,760 (RM230 × 12), before install
PowerLahRM636–RM796 (RM159–RM199 × 4)From RM480 (RM120 × 4)From about RM1,116–RM1,276RM1,908–RM2,388 + install from RM1,440

Utopia and SplitMeter get cheaper per unit as order size rises; PowerLah’s price per unit stays flat. PowerLah device totals use the promotional RM159 and regular RM199 rates. Installation on PowerLah can cost more than the RM120 starting figure when the wiring job is complex.

Research on real-time energy feedback generally finds that people use less power once they can see their own consumption. A widely cited Oxford review of the feedback literature for DEFRA reports savings of roughly 5% to 15% from direct feedback.

That effect tends to be stronger with live, per-room tracking, like the dashboards PowerLah sub-meters provide, than with a bill that only arrives once a month.

If we take the same four-room property example with a combined RM800 monthly electricity bill, at the upper end of that range, a 15% reduction from per-room usage works out to RM120 of savings a month. Against PowerLah’s four-unit all-in starting price of roughly RM1,116 to RM1,276, that works out to a payback period of about 9 to 11 months on the usage savings alone, before even considering any savings from tenants who would otherwise have skipped paying their share.

Actual savings still depend on how often tenants fall behind and how much of the TNB bill cannot be recovered when they do, which varies a lot with aircond use. Aircond electricity cost in Malaysian rentals breaks that down room by room.

Device cost is only half the story — ongoing admin is the other half. A spreadsheet works fine for four rooms in one property, but manual top-up reminders and bill reconciliation take real time once you scale past that. See the multi-unit prepaid rollout playbook for what changes at scale.

None of the four charge extra for this: Utopia and SplitMeter both support up to 10,000 meters on one free account, and Pro Meter and PowerLah both offer tenant self-service top-up through their app. Where PowerLah also differs is the tariff maths: its page advertises automatic conversion between TNB’s Residential and Commercial tariffs and Ringgit while still giving owners the flexibility to fine-tune their own rates.

Frequently asked questions

It depends on scale. SplitMeter’s rent-to-own plan needs no upfront payment and no minimum order, so it is a low-risk way to trial one or two rooms first. Once you are ready to commit to a fuller rollout, buying outright works out cheaper over the meter’s lifetime.

No, not as of September 2026. Utopia, SplitMeter, Pro Meter, and PowerLah all advertise no monthly subscription or software fee. Platforms like PowerLah and Pro Meter may charge a small fee each time a tenant tops up through its app.

Nothing happens to the credit balance. Pro Meter’s and PowerLah’s own published terms both say the meter keeps tracking usage and deducting credit locally even while the connection is down. You just lose remote viewing and control until it reconnects. Utopia and SplitMeter don’t publish the same level of detail on offline behaviour.

Matching TNB’s real blended rate is the most transparent choice, and the easiest one to defend if a tenant questions it. Utopia’s own blog post recommends RM0.50 per kWh as a starting point, which may sit above or below the real TNB rate depending on the property’s usage tier.

Ask for a written quote covering four things before you order: the device price, the installation cost (or how it will be calculated), the warranty length, and who pays for a repair or replacement if a unit fails after the warranty ends. Verbal promises on any of these are difficult to enforce later.

What this means when comparing prepaid systems

Prepaid electricity meter Malaysia decisions come down to six practical checks: true prepaid cut-off and restore, all-in cost, warranty, offline behaviour, clear kWh rates, and a written zero-credit rule. Vendor coverage and install fine print matter as much as the device price.

A four-room payback example on usage savings alone can land around 9 to 11 months for PowerLah’s promotional all-in starting price, before arrears recovery is counted.

Related reading: how smart power metering works for landlords, TNB electricity tariff context for rentals, and the co-living prepaid electricity playbook. For meter, credit, and dashboard together, see how PowerLah works.

Sources